Click here to skip to main content.
Ref No IE TCD MS 10252
Title Literary papers of John Banville
Creation Dates 1968-1988
Extent And Medium 11 boxes
Level Of Description Collection
Author John Banville
Admin Biographical History John Banville, novelist, playwright and journalist, was born on 8 December 1945 in Wexford, the youngest of three children to Martin and Agnes (neé Doran) Banville. He was educated at a Christian Brother's School and at St Peter's College, Wexford. After school he worked as a clerk at Aer Lingus which allowed him to travel extensively. Banville lived in the United States during 1968-69 where he met the American artist Janet Dunham whom he married in 1969. On his return to Ireland he became a sub-editor at the Irish Press and was eventually appointed chief sub-editor. He left the Irish Press in 1983. Banville was literary editor at the Irish Times (1988-1999) and chief literary critic and associate literary editor (1999-2002).

In total, Banville has written 18 novels, a short story collection, a non-fiction work on Prague, 6 plays - both published and unpublished, several screenplays, and 7 crime novels under his pseudonym Benjamin Black. He has written three trilogies: the first, The Revolutions Trilogy, focused on great men of science and consisted of Dr. Copernicus (1976), Kepler (1981), and The Newton Letter (1982). The second trilogy, sometimes referred to collectively as Frames, consists of The Book of Evidence (1989), with several of its characters being featured in Ghosts (1993) and Athena (1995). The third trilogy comprises Eclipse, Shroud and Ancient Light, all of which concern the characters Alexander and Cass Cleave. Beginning with Christine Falls, published in 2006, Banville has written crime fiction under the pen name Benjamin Black.

He has received several literary awards including the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Dr Copernicus (1976); Guardian Fiction Prize for Kepler (1981); Guinness Peat Aviation Book Award for The Book of Evidence (1989); Lannan Literary Award (1997); Man Booker International Prize for The Sea (2006). In 2011, Banville was awarded the Franz Kafka Prize, while 2013 brought both the Irish PEN Award and the Austrian State Prize for European Literature. In 2014 he won the Prince of Asturias Award in Letters. Banville was elected to Aosdána in 1984, resigning in 2002.
Scope And Content This collection contains drafts and proofs of John Banville's novels, short stories, screenplays and unpublished minor works including Long Lankin (1970), Nightspawn (1973), Birchwood (1973), Dr Copernicus (1976), Kepler (1981), The Newton Letter (1982), television play Last Rites (1984), Mefisto (1986), The Book of Evidence (1989), screenplay adaptation of The Spoils of Poynton by Henry James. The drafts for many of the works are extensive and heavily annotated evolving from the earliest manuscript rescensions written in notebooks to the later typescript drafts and printers' proofs. The few items of correspondence in the collection relate to literary and business matters.
Arrangement Arranged chronologically by literary work.
Document T.C.D.MS10252.pdf
Access Conditions Please contact
Copyright Please contact
Mgt Group Literary & theatrical
Language English
Related Material Additional drafts of novels, screenplays, radio scripts and reviews: IE TCD MS 11356
Public Note Derek Hand, John Banville: exploring fictions (Dublin: Liffey Press, 2003).
John Kenny, John Banville (Dublin: Irish Academic Press, 2009).
Rüdiger Imhof, John Banville: a critical introduction (Dublin: Wolfhound Press, 1989).
Joseph Mc Minn, John Banville: a critical study (Dublin: Gill & MacMillan, 1991).
Powered by CalmView© 2008-2010